Your Story Has the Power to Heal

head shotIn 2000 I went down into my basement and I didn’t come up for two weeks.  I purged every skeleton, danced with every demon, and I went back years before and found the little girl I once was, where I had left her.  As a survivor of childhood sexual abuse, I am also a birthmother and gave my first born son up for adoption at the age of 15.  I was a runaway at 14 and lived on the streets for most of my teenage years.  I became a single, homeless mother at the age of 16.  What I discovered, as I began writing my story, was that I was not alone.  It was, in fact, the connections I had to my best friends and their stories that had saved me from death countless times.  My best friend, Amy, having nearly died in a car accident in 1991 which left her paralyzed from the waist down, was my Angel.  We walked together through the tragedy we endured.  I found, when the novel was complete, that the content was so difficult and so emotional that few people could understand why I had written about such haunting events in my life.  The molestation, the incest, the loss of a child – abortion, drugs, and my admitting of my own fight against my self-awareness.  With relationships hanging on by a thread, I found myself time and time again alone, wondering if life was even worth living.

After having finished the book, I tucked it away for nearly twelve years.  I was ashamed, in many ways, of the story of my life.  What would people think of me?  Would they turn even further from me?  I was a dirty, awful being with little value other than what I had survived.  Was it all my fault somehow?

To read the rest visit http://www.itsneverinvain.com/what-is-restitution

 

Leave a Reply

